Wet-towel mindset

Towels that come “pre-moistened” are all the rage in public gyms, cleaning closets, hygiene kits, and diaper bags. But they are only good as long as they are still wet. After the first few are used and maybe the seal is not set tightly, each wipe becomes less and less effective. I cleaned my gym equipment tonight with a dry towel, wondering if the sweat could activate the cleaning solution that was dried-on. I’m glad I cannot see germs.

Also in the gym, I realized that my Bible study has been very lacking lately, and it has left me less effective for prayer, reaching out to people, and in my general responses to life. I began reviewing some verses, and was both encouraged and embarrassed by them.

For instance, I hoped that 2 Thessalonians 3: 10 could not be taken out of a literal context into a spiritually-driven focus:

10 For even when we were with you, we commanded you this: If anyone will not work, neither shall he eat.”

Yeah, and I forgot how perfect 1 Timothy 3:16 summed up the gospel:

“16 And without controversy great is the mystery of godliness:

God was manifested in the flesh,
Justified in the Spirit,
Seen by angels,
Preached among the Gentiles,
Believed on in the world,
Received up in glory.”

And turning the page to 1 Timothy 4:8, this gem is always fun to remember on an elliptical (while studying Bible verses!):

For bodily exercise profits a little, but godliness is profitable for all things, having promise of the life that now is and of that which is to come.”

Bible verses for the win! There was a time when I worked to memorize a new verse each day from the chapter I read in the Bible. And then review the verses I had already memorized. It lasted from 2 Corinthians to the first chapter of Hebrews, and felt like training for a marathon. Not a sustainable approach, but since then I have noticed these verses pop up over and over and over. So today I finally picked them back up after a couple of years. And remembered Psalm 1:

“Blessed is the man
Who walks not in the counsel of the ungodly,
    Nor stands in the path of sinners,
    Nor sits in the seat of the scornful;
But his delight is in the law of the Lord,
    And in His law he meditates day and night.
He shall be like a tree
    Planted by the rivers of water,
    That brings forth its fruit in its season,
    Whose leaf also shall not wither;
And whatever he does shall prosper.

The ungodly are not so,
But are like the chaff which the wind drives away.
Therefore the ungodly shall not stand in the judgment,
Nor sinners in the congregation of the righteous.

For the Lord knows the way of the righteous,
But the way of the ungodly shall perish.”

I always love to read about the godly person, but had the uncomfortable thought today that if I am not aiming towards God in my thoughts and actions, then I am aiming towards the world just like I did not believe in Him at all. And that is scary! It is like being a dried-up towelette that spreads germs instead of killing them. What will it take to be in a refreshed, focused, useful spot again?

God, thank You for the wake-up call in the gym. Thank You for the beauty of the Bible that is living and active…if we are willing to listen. And while I do not want to tip the balance and dive into legalism, I also see a parched quality to my life that shows me I need more living Water. Thank You for taking me back, making that water readily available, and calling me to live differently. My life is never static – it always moves one way or another, so please help it to move towards You. Please also quench those believers who have limited access to the written Bible. Thank You for the adventure we are all on, and please help me to pursue it to Your glory. Amen.

Leave a comment