Hanging out with old people

My church’s average age is skewed above 50…or at least, I’m guessing that (but I’m an English major). I’ve heard that with age comes a greater awareness of limitations, and how little this world has to offer.

Me, well, I fought to keep my attitude positive at work today as I chose the projects I worked on from my list and functioned as a healthy individual in an air-conditioned environment. I even got chocolate!

Then this evening an article on grandparents flashed across my news feed. It contrasted those who mature gracefully rather than becoming pickled and bitter. Age shows true character as everything else is chipped away. So as the young person I cannot help but wonder what the difference is between dreaming of something bigger and feeding a sour attitude?

I have found that many answers are in the Bible…some written by young people, but most by older types. For instance, King David in Psalm 37 said:

“3 Trust in the Lord, and do good;

Dwell in the land, and feed on His faithfulness.
Delight yourself also in the Lord,
And He shall give you the desires of your heart.

Commit your way to the Lord,
Trust also in Him,
And He shall bring it to pass.
He shall bring forth your righteousness as the light,
And your justice as the noonday….

I have been young, and now am old;

Yet I have not seen the righteous forsaken,
Nor his descendants begging bread.
26 He is ever merciful, and lends;
And his descendants are blessed.”

Age brings perspective. And as Paul said to the Philippine church as he sat in jail (Philippians 1:21),

“To live is Christ and to die is gain,”

Or as he advised the church of Colossae,

16 Let the word of Christ richly dwell within you, with all wisdom teaching and admonishing one another with psalms and hymns and spiritual songs,singing with thankfulness in your hearts to God. 17 Whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through Him to God the Father,”(Colossians 3: 16-17).

Sometimes it just takes an outside perspective to show how blessed your situation is: I am free to come and go, able to transport myself and keep a job, help people through what I do, and even leave work at work! I do not have the perspective of age, but I can gain wisdom from those who have already earned their grey hair.

God, thank You for the people around me, and all of those aging gracefully. And really, we are all waiting for something better – heaven!This life is not satisfying in itself, it is faded and fading. Thank You for Your hope that can change the look of my life, and please help me to continue learning and growing with those around me to be more like You. Amen.

Leave a Reply

