Doors to the throne room

I watched One Night With the King last night and was overwhelmed by the dramatic reinterpretation. In this retelling of the book of Esther, there is a moment where Queen Esther runs through rain to reach the doors to the throne room and flings them open. She walks slowly up the hall, every eye staring at her. She is not supposed to be here. Guards! But the king lowers his scepter and she is spared. She faints on the steps.

The whole movie is filled with drama and political intrigue as characters duel for power and attention. I never read the Bible and realized how real the people were. It sounds funny, but I pictured them acting in formal, planned steps like a church service. Nope, life was just as crazy then as in 2016!

But the movie prompted me to think about my own life in a new way. Esther, the wife of the king, could not approach him directly unless she was willing to risk her life. But in Hebrews it says that Jesus, the Bridegroom to the Church, has cleared the way so we can enter the throne room of God at any time! What?

14 Since then we have a great high priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus, the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession. 15 For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin. 16 Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need” (Hebrews 4:14-16). 

While I feel like I make some dramatic entrances with my prayers at times, I know God always welcomes me. That is surreal when you think that the supreme Creator of all that exists has made Himself available for me to call on Him at any time. That is not just a demonstration of His power in being able to address all the problems of the world at once, but also shows His love in wanting to address problems over and over. Wow.

God, thank You for a new year just around the corner. The past year was crazy and 2017 looks like it is shaping up to have its own set of wild adventures. Thank You that no matter what, I can run to You for mercy and grace when I need them. What a privilege! Please help me to remember to make better use of that chance this coming year, and to come as boldly as Esther. And more, because You have already lowered Your scepter and told Your guards that I am safe to come through. Thanks.  To You be the glory in how I live with that gift, Amen.

Leave a Reply

