Not waiting for a baby

It is Christmas Eve. Should I put sprinklers on my yoghurt? Nah… besides, it doesn’t feel like Christmas. I got some cool stuff for some people and they got something for me (I hope). But…where is the giddiness of my childhood? Probably deeper in the ornament box than I bothered to dig this year. Life just keeps going so fast. Where are you, Christmas? I hummed under my breath.

I started thinking about the manger and the Nativity scene. Frozen in place. But if this is a birthday, we’re not waiting for a baby. I’ve heard about my brother’s infamous birth just before midnight. Anticipation, impatience, and MnMs were definitely going around that night. Sounds like my grade school Christmas memories. And now? Well he’s off working today. And I anticipate a man coming home, not a baby.

Maybe Jesus is the same way.

Maybe we should take out the manger and purchase an extra shepherd boy figure to show Jesus grew. Then maybe another Joseph because the Christ Child grew to be a man. A man who lived and died to save the world and show each person how much He loves them. And maybe a Magi figure would remind me He is not just a man, but a king. My King, with my allegiance. The manger can be put behind an empty picture frame like a baby book. We remember it, but He’s already been born.

So what is Christmas? We celebrate a birthday. And while the Nativity scene in my house is a baby picture, the Bible gives many other pictures too. And the cool thing about birthdays is they celebrate for one day the start of a new year. So I’m going to look at this Christmas as just the start of a new year spent living with Jesus. I hope I will get to know Him better and learn more about what He likes, dislikes, and how to make Him laugh. Oh, and I want to get Him something for His birthday (I know, last-minute, but not late yet!). I wonder what He wants from me this year…something exciting and personal, I think. I’m going to go ask Him.

Merry Christmas!

For to us a child is born,
    to us a son is given;
and the government shall be upon his shoulder,
    and his name shall be called
Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God,
    Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.
Of the increase of his government and of peace
    there will be no end,
on the throne of David and over his kingdom,
    to establish it and to uphold it
with justice and with righteousness
    from this time forth and forevermore.
The zeal of the Lord of hosts will do this” (Isaiah 9:6-7). 

Leave a Reply

