Snow day fever

It is not just kids who go gaga over snow days. I just have a more specific time table: really hard flurries before work or a light dusting until I get home from work. I fantasize about things I can do with the extra free time, even if the power goes out for a couple hours. Then I remember my plans, and I schedule the snow for days I do not mind staying home. But then a friend tells me she is praying for snow days that are opposite from mine.

Life is so much more complicated as an adult.

What did Jesus mean when He said we should have faith like a child? Children ask questions, but they expect you’ll have the right answer. Life becomes more complicated by options, responsibilities, and choices when you grow up. How does God work in the busy, modern world? Or does He see us as people who just need to learn to drive in the snow? Or wonder why I spend so much time pinning the weather down and don’t trust Him to give me the right circumstances for my day?

Job comes to mind, a guy who I think would have every right to say God wasn’t quite playing fair. Well, God responded:

22 “Have you entered the storehouses of the snow,
    or have you seen the storehouses of the hail,
23 which I have reserved for the time of trouble,
    for the day of battle and war?
24 What is the way to the place where the light is distributed,
    or where the east wind is scattered upon the earth?” (Job 38:22-24). 

Job, what do you know about how the world works? Or in other words, “I’m God. BOOM, drop the mike.”

I have to ask myself the same question. Why do I try to worry and control life? I’ve succeeded only slightly better than trying to control the weather.

I was reminded today in the middle of running around to take care of a hundred details of the story of two sisters in the Bible. One was on fire, super efficient, and anticipating the every need of a guy who did not enjoy the steady comforts of home. Her sister left the dishes in the sink, the flowers on the bushes, and was doing too well at greeting this guest…it was time to finish dinner! Martha appealed to Jesus, but He surprise her with His comeback:

“41 But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, 42 but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her” (Luke 10:41-42). 

God, I live a Martha life in a sucess-focused world…right down to pleading for or demanding snow days to catch up. Please help me to prioritize the things You see as important and let the rest go. Thank You for loving and leading when I have no clue, and for forgiving my arrogance in ordering You around. To You be the glory in my life, Amen.

Leave a Reply

