But I’m not tired!

“But I’m not tired!”

YAAAAAWWWWNNN.

How many times will I repeat this?

Denying myself the sleep I really do want and need.

I’m not even protesting against my parents anymore. I’m just fighting my better judgement.

Why? There must be a deeper reason.

The day is incomplete? I’m afraid? Discouraged? Angry? Too tired to care?

How often do I respond to God – “I don’t need help/advice right now?”

I doubt He rolls His eyes…or maybe just a little. We both know better, but I do not want to listen.

Why do I fight so hard? Why does He fight so hard for me?

What does REST look like? Not forgetting, not postponing, but resting from the stress, guilt, expectations we pile and stack on ourselves.

27 All things have been delivered to Me by My Father, and no one knows the Son except the Father. Nor does anyone know the Father except the Son, and the one to whom the Son wills to reveal Him. 28 Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For My yoke is easy and My burden is light” (Matthew 11:27-30). 

God, You provide rest.

I have to listen first. And You provide a way, comfort, no matter how hard it is.

I run away from Your way sometimes, yawning all the way in my soul. Sorry. Thank You for Your patience with me – please forgive me and help me to not run to other things to patch my fraying edges, but to You, with the true healing and rest. To Your glory, Amen.

Leave a Reply

