All-inclusive offer

I really like the idea of going on a cruise. I’ve offered to accompany friends and relatives, but have not had anyone take advantage of that opportunity yet. Everyone comes back with elaborate tales of the food, the scenery, the food, the ship, the food, the pools, the food…

I hear that your cruise package includes just about everything on the ship. Most of life does not act that way. I worry that the basics will not be included or remembered by others…what if the youth leader forgets that humans get hungry at noon and need food before the event? Or will there be time between work and the meeting to eat?

In all my planning and worrying, some of Jesus’ words come up again and again:

26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life? 28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:26-34). 

I love to watch birds hopping, pecking, and fluttering around bushes. The amazing thing is the bug buffet never closes. And no matter how many seasons they come out, plants never wear the Emperor’s New Suit. But does it work in real life? Right here and now? Today? For me?

This past week, I packed a lunch for three or four days and never got the chance to eat it. Time after time, food was available, provided, ready and waiting, so my leftovers got put on hold. It reminded me that Christianity is not a coupon religion with one-time sales and expiration dates. It is an all-inclusive, life-long relationship. While I do not expect meal delivery every day, God does remember that we get hungry. And need clothes. And I can trust Him for those everyday, basic needs. So today, I can trust Him. And He’ll be there tomorrow, so I can stop worrying and trust He will provide then as well. Life can be an adventure on the way to a special destination…kind of the same idea as a cruise!

God, thank You for providing for so much. I am not in need of the basics, and yet You remind me that they are not things You forget. So if You remember food and clothes, You have far more complex details and plans ready for my life, without me having to worry and fret. Please help me to trust You and enjoy the journey, and let others know about this special trip that You offer to each person with relationship that is all-inclusive without an expiration date. To Your glory, Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

