Communication complications

Three generations of people today…and I do not fully communicate well with any of them. My grandma and an older friend shared the heartache of watching loved ones break down, while I tried to understand a world where doctor’s visits are as common as grocery shopping.

My mom is looking age in the face and adapting her habits to take it head on. I am still trying to figure out how I want to arrange my normal routine, and if there are new elements to add.

My brother is immersed in a different vein of life, and shares videos and references that I work to keep up with. I feel like printing off a meme of Captain America to hold up as I say, “I got that reference!”

But despite our communication struggles, three generations were able to sit down to a meal and a card game today. We laughed, schemed, caught up on news, shared troubles. We approach life from different angles. It makes me think in new ways.

Maybe that is what Paul was going for in 2 Timothy 1:

I am reminded of your sincere faith, a faith that dwelt first in your grandmother Lois and your mother Eunice and now, I am sure, dwells in you as well.For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands, for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control. Therefore do not be ashamed of the testimony about our Lord, nor of me his prisoner, but share in suffering for the gospel by the power of God,who saved us and called us to a holy calling, not because of our works but because of his own purpose and grace, which he gave us in Christ Jesus before the ages began…”

I struggle to share my faith. I do not fully understand it, so I feel awkward trying to communicate about it with others. But when I look at my grandma and her generation or my mom and her ministries, I can see that this faith is not fake, or neive, or just a phase. God really changes lives, one day at a time. It’s something I can keep learning and share the story with those around me.

God, words have not gone far enough today. I kept stumbling over thoughts and trust meeting doubts. Thank You for the history of faith that has been passed down to me and my generation. Please help me to keep looking to You for strength and love instead of fear. Make Your plans fall into place, not mine. To Your glory, Amen.

Leave a Reply

