When imagination hits the paper

I searched high and low for just the right image today. I need a picture that incorporates a modern Christmas theme, light, and that little sparkle that comes with a unique perspective. While it is cool that this is a work project, it does not make the creative strain easier. I am looking forward to sinking my teeth back into it and finding a solution tomorrow.

Creativity. It defines us as humans in so many ways.

Sometimes when I go to my “Christian” efforts, I am amazed at the lack of creativity. Over the years I have changed how I approach Bible study – using study tactics such as topical, book studies, guided studies, fast, slow, inductive, journaling. But does my view of God, of life change from these studies? Or are they just a vitamin to engage my moral values and keep me cured of spiritual colds?

What would happen if God were bigger than I imagined? What would happen if He was more creative than I will ever understand? What if the Bible is more alive because it is His tool rather than typed characters on a page? What if my imagination were challenged by His creativity to respond in kind? What would happen?

Who is God?

He is the Creator; that is the first thing we learn about Him (Genesis 1:1). He creates order, function, and individuality. In Isaiah 45, God speaks through His prophet Isaiah to the distant ruler of a pagan land, Cyrus. God is still God, even though the king does not know Him. And He is still in charge of the earth:

“Drip down, O heavens, from above,
And let the clouds pour down righteousness;
Let the earth open up and salvation bear fruit,
And righteousness spring up with it.
I, the Lord, have created it.”

So how do we respond? David wrote Psalms of praise, confusion, trust. And me? What can I do?

I don’t know yet. But I know that the more clear my view of God, the easier it will be to respond in awe and creativity. And I suspect that if I go looking for a big God, I will get more than I bargained for – I’ll get perspective on my own place in the world, too.

God, thank You for big questions with big answers. Thanks for helping me see how much I need a better view of who You are. I am excited to explore that. Please help me to pursue Your heart, not just a daily vitamin, and see how to use my own imagination to seek You out. To You be the glory, Amen!

 

Leave a Reply

