Counselor

I’m not thirty yet, but I have a nice list of things that I want to talk to talk to a counselor about on a regular basis: trauma, hurt feelings, big decisions, and how to handle unruly emotions. But I also have an aptitude for being a good listener, which means I want to dissect said counselor’s mind for what to say to people beyond, “Boy, that’s hard, I feel your pain.”

My mom lent me a book that is changing how I look at listening: Kitchen Table Counselor. It is helping me see how much wisdom for life is packed into the Bible, and how I can help people while not becoming a crutch or cardboard cutout with voice-activated monosyllabic responses. I am a little shocked and amazed how applicable the Bible can be in a real conversation that is not patronizing or mechanical.

This study is also helping me to hear the Holy Spirit’s prompting on areas that I personally need to work on, making Psalm 119:105 a reality: “Your word is a lamp to my feet/ And a light to my path.” 

Jesus promised His disciples at the last supper, “16 I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may be with you forever; 17 that is the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it does not see Him or know Him, but you know Him because He abides with you and will be in you” (John 14:16-17). 

What would it look like to actually get advice on life, special relationships, annoying acquaintances, and dealing with stress from Someone who knows the human race, and me personally, better than anyone else? Best news: His appointment book is never full, and drop-ins are encouraged!

And as the holidays approach, I cannot help thinking of a verse that comes up around Christmas from Isaiah that tells of the Savior who came so long ago:

For a child will be born to us, a son will be given to us;
And the government will rest on His shoulders;
And His name will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God,
Eternal Father, Prince of Peace” (Isaiah 9:6)

God, thank You for who You are…I tend to minimize Your abilities to match my own, and then I’m shocked to find out there is more available. It’s kind of funny, actually. Thank You for Your patience for me! Please help me to learn more from Your Word, and see how it is as current as a 2017 calendar. Thank You for the wisdom You have so readily available if we will listen. To You be the glory! Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

