Impeccable timing

I’ve heard some people say they are punctual to a fault. For some reason I picture a monocle and British accent for impeccable timing. I’ve rarely called someone late for dinner. But when it comes to life circumstances, I’m surprised when I happen to be in the right place at the right time to speak encouragement to someone or step in to help. Why me? I’m not that special. Maybe that’s what Esther thought when she was the one in place to ask the king to spare the lives of the Jews. She was scared, even if she was the Queen of Persia. Her guardian Mordecai said,

“Do not think to yourself that in the king’s palace you will escape any more than all the other Jews. 14 For if you keep silent at this time, relief and deliverance will rise for the Jews from another place, but you and your father’s house will perish. And who knows whether you have not come to the kingdom for such a time as this?” (Esther 4)

What if God is so involved in the workings of our world and history that He creates moments for His children to act as the turning points for events small and large. Are we ready to obey His lead and act when we find ourselves in the perfect place? Gather people to pray with you like Esther, and face the king!

God, please give me wisdom for how I respond to people and situations as You would, and see when You have something for me to say or do. Please give me courage for each day to live as Your child and ambassador. To Your glory, amen.

Leave a Reply

