Puns and tears

Life is full of change, and change makes me cry inside. But at the same time, I want to create good memories with people so I pun-ish them with my fabulous jokes. Sitting on the couch with a friend tonight, with nothing to cushion our grief except wit and pillows, a sectional of my mind devoted itself to joking around. Being punny is not always easy, but I have found that Proverbs 17:22 is correct when it says,

A happy heart is like good medicine.
    But a broken spirit drains your strength.”

I am glad that each day is only twenty-four hours. It gives us time to reset. But one day spills into another and life gets messy. But God has promised to be with us. He has our backs, and knows what we can handle. How do I know that? Well, it is promised in Hebrews 13…quoted from Deuteronomy 31:

 Be strong and brave. Don’t be afraid of them. Don’t be frightened. The Lord your God will go with you. He will not leave you or forget you.”

In Deuteronomy, Moses is telling Israel to be courageous because God will help them. This is after 40 years of a bad track record where they doubted God, tried to manipulate Him, and complained a lot. But God was about to lead Israel to fight their enemies and take over the Promised Land. It was daunting, but He was going to carry them through.

Centuries later, the author of Hebrews pointed out that God never stopped caring for Israel or any of His children despite rebellion, after rebellion. He even sent Jesus to die for us! So, we can be content with money, in marriage, and wherever our lives are at. Not because everything is going to be perfect, but because God will be with us no matter what.

I cried over onions tonight, and felt like shedding a tear with a friend later on, but I know that tomorrow is going to be a good day, because no matter what my future looks like, God will be there. So the future can wait for tomorrow!

God, thank You for jokes and laughter to help us make it through hard days. Please help me to trust that You are enough when I’m not, and lean on You when trouble spills from one day to the next. Life and change go hand in hand. Please help me live each day to Your glory, and thanks for always being there. Amen.

 

Photo: Laughing by  a4gpa on Flickr.

Leave a Reply

