The power of a smile

It amazes me how much a single encounter can change the flow of your life. There have been many times where I have felt nudged to smile at someone and strike up a conversation or call out some quality in them. And on a few rare occasions I have caught a glimpse of the impact.

A story shared with others. Encouragement and support as I try new direction.  A random neighbor from Africa who I smiled at one day who is now going to church with my roommate. God works in mysterious ways. I think that conversation made me late to work that day. But I would say it paid off!

John shows many examples if Jesus unconventional brand of love. He speaks to a woman at a well…like speaking to the enemy of your people, who is a nobody, and a corrupt one at that.

Or in His conversations with His disciples in chapter 13,

“34 A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another.35 By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.”

I think we overcomplicate how we love people. Often it is as simple as seeing them as people and caring enough to share a smile. It has a lot of power. Who can you bless today?

God, thank You for showing me a little of what You are orchestrating behind the scenes. I’m amazed that simple comments are remembered, even treasured. It’s a gift I can give, and I want to learn to give it freely as You direct my days. Please help me to love people like Jesus. To Your glory, Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

