Don’t give up

“Hold on, keep going, don’t give up!” I had a lot of prayerful pep-talks today. It was a fine day, just frustrating in its normality. I am exasperated at “people” right now: human-kind in general rather than a specific audience. But that still small voice keeps urging me to not give up.

Even my randomly selected Pilates video talked about pushing on when you don’t think you can go any farther, and seeing a miracle happen.

Is it time for that miracle yet?

When is it pushing through and when is it digging yourself into a hole? How far do you chase after dreams – when is it time to let them rest for a while?

I am not enough on my own to successfully make it through this life. God keeps reminding me, “I AM enough” –

I AM who got Israel out of Egypt.

I AM who led sinners out of darkness into light.

Then. Now. Forever.

“Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.”  (Hebrews 13:8)

This is the final word that Moses gave as he was finishing his book and getting ready to pass on his leadership mantle to Joshua:

“Be strong and of good courage, for you must go with this people to the land which the Lord has sworn to their fathers to give them, and you shall cause them to inherit it. And the Lord, He is the One who goes before you. He will be with you, He will not leave you nor forsake you; do not fear nor be dismayed.” (Deuteronomy 31:7-8)

So tomorrow is a new day. God is good, and He gives strength to the weak. Thank You, God, for loving me on my worst days and helping me reach my best ones. Thank You that You are the same, You never give up on us, and You see more in us than we want to acknowledge…and push us to reach it. Please help me to get my eyes on You, and start tomorrow fresh. Please help me to respond to people in Your love. To Your glory, Amen.

 

Blog note: Part of the new normal for me will be to resume some of my other writing projects. I will be blogging less frequently, and hope that the posts will be more concentrated and insightful as I have more time to unearth insights.

Leave a Reply

