Taking time for a cuppa tea

I started with a floral English breakfast with my cinnamon roll, moved to a walnut brittle with Bible study, and rounded out the day with a fruity rooibos. Tea takes time to steep, sip, and savor…one of the reasons I have not enjoyed very much of my loose leaf collection for a couple months. Slowing down is important. I am impatient and afraid I will miss something by lingering, but the slow pace today showed me how much you can enjoy on a slow stroll.

Did Martha and Mary ever get the house chores and the resting time sorted out? Martha never got to the end of her list, and Mary didn’t always see the point. My guess is that they kept trying for many years to do both. And people for centuries have tried to find a balance between days of doing, and days for the slow pace of another cuppa tea.

God, please help me to learn to linger, and appreciate the intricate details You build into this world. They blow me away when I stop to really see them. Thank You, and to You be all the glory! Amen.

“Even before a word is on my tongue,
    behold, O Lord, you know it altogether.
You hem me in, behind and before,
    and lay your hand upon me.
6  Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
    it is high; I cannot attain it.” Psalm 139

Leave a Reply

