Hooray for less

Jesus told one rich man to give all he had to the poor and follow Him. Why would He ruin years of labor by throwing the profits to the wind?

I am moving soon and hoping to get rid of a lot of STUFF. It feels like I’m lighter every time I clean out a new item…they are responsibilities. And while God gave us things to enjoy on earth, they are never meant to take over and become despotic controllers of us. What you have, take care of, and hold with a loose grip. God is teaching me the adventure of generosity, which is a new one. I am reminded of His words in Matthew 6 where He says,

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, 20 but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

God, that You for prompting my heart to change direction, and enjoy the opportunity to bless people by giving. It really is a refreshing, joyful thing to give without worry. And I know that I do worry and fuss, so I apologize. Please help me trust You, give my fullest, and enjoy how You use me to provide for others, and You use others to provide what I need. It’s beautiful. Thanks for creating this system of give and take. To You be the glory in how I use it, Amen.

Leave a Reply

