Reunion

I had a grumpy afternoon, full of lethargy and storm clouds. I ravenously snacked at home. Mumbled over going to dinner at an old roommate’s house. But as soon as I got there, her music was playing, her 1000 Watt smile was beaming, and her hugs were just as good as I remembered. It is good to connect, to see each other, to laugh, cry, share a meal, and feel like you’re at home.

Paul was hoping to see Timothy again for a final reunion, but sent a letter of preparation (2 Timothy). He knew his end was near,

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the course, I have kept the faith; in the future there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day; and not only to me, but also to all who have loved His appearing.”

The best reunion – seeing Christ, was almost there for Paul. But he still cared for Timothy, his son in the faith. He gave him some final instructions:

I solemnly charge you in the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who is to judge the living and the dead, and by His appearing and His kingdom: preach the word; be ready in season and out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort, with great patience and instruction.”

Paul hoped for a cloak before winter, books, parchments. Some had deserted him, others were scattered throughout towns working or ill. The Lord was with him when there was no one else, and the church was still alive and well near his prison in Rome. This is his final account, shoring up Timothy’s ministry and preparing him for when Paul would leave this world for good. But they would only be separated temporarily. Christ’s kingdom was coming.

It is hard for me as a Christian to pull away from so many people I know and love as I move during different stages in life. But in Christ, we are all connected forever. And we will have a grand reunion in His heavenly kingdom. So there is still work to be done. There are people to be accounted for, and others to call. Our race is still going. But we can encourage each other every day that the Reunion is coming. Hallelujah!

God, thank You for the close friendships that aren’t dissolved by time and space. Thank You for the thousands of believers I will get to meet and know as well as those who I will reconnect with when Your kingdom comes. In the meantime, God, I am a young Timothy with a lot to do and without the wisdom to do it. Please help me to learn from others, trust You for strength, and look forward to the finish line. Thank You for helping my steps along the way. To Your glory, Amen.

Leave a Reply

