What = good life?

I gave myself a mini-tatoo today: Wt=gd lf? What is a good life? It’s a question that got started in Bible study. Today I stayed busy with fun projects, shot some hoops, enjoyed a free lunch, and  finished the day with a cake and ice cream finale. I thought, this is the good life. And I’m leaving it. Why? It’s just not…enough. It is great for today, and I am very thankful for today, but there’s more out there.

Paul wrapped up his letter to Timothy in 1 Timothy 6. What do you say in your last words to someone who needs wisdom to lead and an affirming clap on the back?

But godliness with contentment is great gain, for we brought nothing into the world, and we cannot take anything out of the world.But if we have food and clothing, with these we will be content.”

A good life is contentment with what you have. Money is a treadmill: run too fast after it, and you’ll just wear out. You do not get anywhere. Of course I say that as my shopping list continues to expand and I dream about buying this kind of furniture in the distant future or that pair of shoes in a week.

Paul had a lot to say about money:

17 As for the rich in this present age, charge them not to be haughty, nor to set their hopes on the uncertainty of riches, but on God, who richly provides us with everything to enjoy. 18 They are to do good, to be rich in good works, to be generous and ready to share, 19 thus storing up treasure for themselves as a good foundation for the future, so that they may take hold of that which is truly life. 20 O Timothy, guard the deposit entrusted to you. Avoid the irreverent babble and contradictions of what is falsely called “knowledge,” 21 for by professing it some have swerved from the faith.” (emphasis mine) 

Knowledge, power, wealth. Paul covered all the bases in this letter. Do not run after them, do not be afraid to challenge them, and see what is better in God’s economy. Contentment…looking ahead to a future reward…these are mixed-up, crazy ways of thinking! It takes a changed mindset to see the true good in these lifestyles.

What = a good life?

God, how far will I go in pursuit of a good life? I feel like there is a lot that Your word says, and I disregard some of those things so I can try them out myself. God, please help me pursue the life You say is good, rather than the life I want (which looks a lot more like being rich and getting what I want). There is more to life- please help me to see Your better and Your best, and change my viewpoint. Help me to be content and looking ahead to Your heaven-based kingdom.To Your glory, and thank You! Amen.

Leave a Reply

