Test of faith

I have heard of people testing faith by falling off something backwards and trusting that they will be caught by their partner. I do not think that is what Paul had in mind when he confronted the Corinthian church about their faith.

Paul confronted the Corinthian church about their attitude towards life. He said in 2 Corinthians 13 about Christ:

“He is not weak in dealing with you, but is powerful among you. For he was crucified in weakness, but lives by the power of God. For we also are weak in him, but in dealing with you we will live with him by the power of God.

Examine yourselves, to see whether you are in the faith. Test yourselves. Or do you not realize this about yourselves, that Jesus Christ is in you?—unless indeed you fail to meet the test!”

Right now, my faith has been tested in the quiet, when nothing was happening, and in the blizzard, when a million thoughts and details swirl around my head. I am somewhat helpless in both cases…I cannot jump in and save the day. So will I trust God or freak out?

If we have faith, we have power from God – enough to raise Jesus from the dead! So will we choose to believe that and ask God for strength or try to grit our teeth and push through on our own? I’ve done both. They are both hard. But God is a lot stronger than I am!

God, thank You for Jesus living in me – I know because of times I have trusted. I’m sorry for the times where I live like I am alone, and pursue other things. Please help me to trust You in the storm of details, and wait on Your timing and strength for the best outcome. To You be the glory, Amen.

Leave a Reply

