The return of the floppy disks

In my latest archaeological dig through old memories, I unearthed some rare and fragile 3×5 inch floppy disks. Thankfully, I still have my translating device, a floppy disk reader. I decided to decode the ancient texts before the translation process became even more difficult. The documents I translated logged in as old school files, fragments of ideas for short stories, and novel excerpts at all stages of completion.

I used to have much more time to write. I miss those days. Right now I have a “to-do” list a mile long, and three ongoing projects scattered around. And sometimes I ask God why I have so much to do, so many commitments and passions, and so many people I care to connect with…an overabundance in some very good things. I don’t even have children yet!

In 2 Corinthians 9, Paul wrote to the Corinthians about giving. He was talking about money, but I believe time can sometimes be just as difficult to give:

“6 Remember this: The person who plants a little will have a small harvest. But the person who plants a lot will have a big harvest. Each one should give, then, what he has decided in his heart to give. He should not give if it makes him sad. And he should not give if he thinks he is forced to give. God loves the person who gives happily. And God can give you more blessings than you need. Then you will always have plenty of everything. You will have enough to give to every good work.

God loves to give. He created a world, and gave it to man to govern. He gives rain to everyone regardless of whether they believe in Him or not. He gave Jesus so we could be righteous again. Paul goes on to say that just as God made bread, and He provides the seed we need and the bread we need for the season we are in, He provides for us as we give. Old memories remind us of His faithfulness in the past. New giving challenges our trust and prompts us to new adventures of faith.

But God does not force us to give. And sometimes we do not take what He offers because we do not want it. And that is sad – both for us missing it, and for Him being rejected. But He keeps loving us, and giving us opportunities to trust. He is good.

Thank You, God, for the blessings of the past, and how You are at work in my crazy life now. Thank You that You are good, and so generous to give. God, I am sad that my heart clings to things without giving them to those around me or to You…time, money, resources. Please help me to learn to give like You have given to me, and learn new leaps of faith like an Olympic high-jumper. Thanks for the opportunity to remember what You’ve done before, and how far You have brought me. To You be the glory, Amen.

Leave a Reply

