A jaunt down memory lane

Have you ever been sucked into the time warp of old photos? I was set on cleaning out my phone memory and looked up an hour later…not bad for traveling over a year back in time. I’ve taken many trips since I got this camera, including my first camping trip in ten years!

Paul talks about tents in 2 Corinthians 5. It may seem odd, but as a tent maker, it was a metaphor dear to his heart.

 For we know that if the tent that is our earthly home is destroyed, we have a building from God, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens. For in this tent we groan, longing to put on our heavenly dwelling, if indeed by putting it on we may not be found naked. For while we are still in this tent, we groan, being burdened—not that we would be unclothed, but that we would be further clothed, so that what is mortal may be swallowed up by life. He who has prepared us for this very thing is God, who has given us the Spirit as a guarantee.”

Paul goes on to say that in this world we walk by faith, not by sight, so we want to keep our eyes focused on Jesus to be ready when we see Him. We are living life on the go, and while we may save pictures and memories, the best is ahead so do not get too attached to any one place.

That is so hard for me. I want to be able to label a place “HOME” with a neon blue sign. But the more I travel, the more I realize that many people and places may mean home to me on one level or another. My guess is that each place that triggers my sense of belonging is a snippet of what heaven will be like. We will be set right, the world will be set right, and we will belong wherever we go. We will be home.

Until then, where I will hopefully have perfect memory, I will keep taking snapshots of the stops along the road that whisper “home” to me. And savor the sweet time-warp memories.

God, thank You for cameras, memories, and time. And thank You that time is limited, changing, and aimed for the moment when Your kingdom will be established on earth, and we will be set free of the temporary and finally belong for good. I so look forward to that. Please help me to seize the moments for their beauty, but never see them as everything. To You be the glory! Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

