Fighting the “easy way”

Sugar is a drug, and so is caffeine. I am well acquainted with both of these, and struggle to live without them for just a day. Of course, everyone uses them, so it is not really a big deal. My fight is just a personal thing, right?

Today I was chatting with a friend and asked if she had any good stories from her son’s day recovering from dental work.

“No, he was pretty with it, slept for an hour and a half, and was fine, remembered everything.”

“Cool,” I shrugged, thinking he must just be used to things like that.

“Yeah, I think its the military training. He told me there was a point where he could have let the drugs take over, but he fought to keep his mind. And he won. He was awake the whole surgery even though he was on drugs.”

Wow. I admire the willpower required to push through the tug of sleep. I do not even like to push through my morning fog to wake up! That thought triggered a verse from 2 Timothy 2:

 You therefore, my son, be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus.The things which you have heard from me in the presence of many witnesses, entrust these to faithful men who will be able to teach others also. Suffer hardship with me, as a good soldier of Christ Jesus. No soldier in active service entangles himself in the affairs of everyday life, so that he may please the one who enlisted him as a soldier. Also if anyone competes as an athlete, he does not win the prize unless he competes according to the rules.15 Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.”

Timothy was compared to a soldier, following his commanding officer. It is parallel to Paul’s message to the Corinthian church in 2 Corinthians 10:

For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war according to the flesh, for the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh, but divinely powerful for the destruction of fortresses. We are destroying speculations and every lofty thing raised up against the knowledge of God, and we are taking every thought captive to the obedience of Christ, and we are ready to punish all disobedience, whenever your obedience is complete.”

There is a battle going on in the world. And I remember that part, but I do not remember about the training. That’s boring! That’s reps at the gym and getting sore every day. No fun! But that is what makes all the difference in the end between standing and falling. So how is my training?

God, thank You for leading us in a successful campaign against evil. Thank You for a real-life example of opposing the things that are easy. God, I give in so quickly. Please help me to see where I can daily train to seek You. Please help me to learn to fight the good fight and train for the hard battles. And thank You that You call us to the winning team! To You be the glory.

Leave a Reply

