Excuse for a roadtrip

There are many fast food joints that have almost a cult status. Well, I joined the crowds and flocked with my church group to one of these cultural eating joints four hours down the freeway. Not for the nice burger and good fries and standard milkshake. I went for the time of music, the time of talking. We actually talked more on the way back, after our “mission” was completed. We watched the sun go down, blinking to look at each other as we compared cultures, shared stories, engaged in dialogue about hard questions that we just do not ask.

And I got home and was very tired.

Doing life with people is hard. It is hard when you are just coming. It is hard when you know you are going to leave. It is hard when you are in the middle and unsure how to get closer, and it is hard when you are close and unsure how far the connections will go and how much more you can take.

And then I laugh. God knows each person intimately. And hears each cry each moment of the day. And when we connect, we can see a little of His fingerprints in the man or woman in front of us.

And God knows me better than I know myself. It reminds me of Psalm 139:

“O Lord, You have searched me and known me.
You know when I sit down and when I rise up;
You understand my thought from afar.
You scrutinize my path and my lying down,
And are intimately acquainted with all my ways.
Even before there is a word on my tongue,
Behold, O Lord, You know it all.
You have enclosed me behind and before,
And laid Your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
It is too high, I cannot attain to it.

Where can I go from Your Spirit?
Or where can I flee from Your presence?
If I ascend to heaven, You are there;
If I make my bed in Sheol, behold, You are there.
If I take the wings of the dawn,
If I dwell in the remotest part of the sea,
10 Even there Your hand will lead me,
And Your right hand will lay hold of me.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will overwhelm me,
And the light around me will be night,”
12 Even the darkness is not dark to You,
And the night is as bright as the day.
Darkness and light are alike to You.”

God, no matter where I go on a roadtrip, or how far my thoughts wander, You are there. And You know each person that intimately. I passed so many people on the road today, and did not think a thing about them. In such a busy world, connecting with a dozen people can be an intense job. God, thank You for the people in my life. Please help me pursue authentic relationships like the one You have with me. And please help me to point each person back to You, as the only One who knows us wherever we are at. Thank You, God, for knowing me so well. To Your glory! Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

