Baseball bats and fresh peach crisp

My eight year old cousin asked me to play baseball during a break in my Bible study. I agreed to toss his foam golf balls to him, but only for a little bit.

“Is it your work?” he asked.

Some days, I would say Bible study is work. But today, I had a craving for it. I was missing time with God. Not to mention I had a beautiful view, a hot cup of coffee, and just enough breeze to make a blanket feel comfortable in the 7:00 am sunshine.

I told my cousin, “No, this is like time with a friend. You take time to talk with your friends, right? Reading my Bible helps me be a better person.”

“Are you less frustrated during the day?” he asked with his crooked teeth, squinted eyes grin.

“And love people better, worry less,” I said.

It is refreshing to break down life to the simple terms of childhood. Instead of subtle nuances, it is nice to think about the most basic reason we do things.

And there are even some days where I enjoy Bible study as much as a hot peach crisp right out of the oven. There is nothing better than picking fruit off of a tree, and baking with it the next day. It came straight from the source. It is important to me to do the same with my Bible studies. I am trying to learn from other books, but also make sure to read straight from God’s word to us.

Psalm 119 is a great chapter that examines our relationship with the Bible, all in verses that correspond each letter in the alphabet!

How blessed are those whose way is blameless,
Who walk in the law of the Lord.
How blessed are those who observe His testimonies,
Who seek Him with all their heart.
They also do no unrighteousness;
They walk in His ways.
You have ordained Your precepts,
That we should keep them diligently.
Oh that my ways may be established
To keep Your statutes!” (Pslam 119:1-5). 

God, I was thinking today about how I do Bible study, and how it can change from day to day. I also love it as a chance to get away from people and recharge for a little bit. So please help me to not judge the extroverts who do not engage in something exactly like my Bible study.

God, please help me to love Your Word more like peach crisp, sweet and inviting. You did not leave anything unsaid that we need to understand. Please help me, God, to understand Your word better and learn to  love people more like You. Amen.

Leave a Reply

