Watchmen

“Land Ahoy!”

“Legolas, what do your elf eyes see?”

“I spy…”

“There it is!”

“Twelve O’Clock and all’s well!”

We listen for the watchmen in our lives to tell us about the world. We look to the radio if traffic is slow, the weatherman for weekend plans, the lifeguard for approaching dangers, the talk show host for political alerts. Twitter, Facebook, news feeds, emails, texts all bring us updates on the world. But it matters who you listen to, and if your watchmen can see well ahead.

Watchmen were well known in biblical times. God appointed Ezekiel as Israel’s watchman to warn them of the trouble that was coming. Their destruction would be on his head if he did not speak.

Psalm 130 says,

“I wait for the Lord, my soul waits,
    and in his word I hope;
my soul waits for the Lord
    more than watchmen for the morning,
    more than watchmen for the morning.”

Isaiah is full of watchmen who both shout over the return of the Lord and the watchmen who are blind, drunk, and asleep.

I was thinking about it, and realized that we are a kind of watchman, too. God has given us the warning that there is a storm ahead, and we know the way to the lifeboat. How often do I turnaway? How often do I  proclaim Your truth?

Thank You, God, for the watchmen in my life, and please help me to spread the news of Your salvation to my world. Amen.

Leave a Reply

