Peace and rest

Sometimes potholes are almost as good as roller coasters. Curbs work to catch air too. I felt like in the road trip of life, I found some nice deep potholes today…lack of sleep, changes at work, two energetic and needy animals eager to greet me in the evening. And yet part of me wondered why these things had me hyperventilating. It’s just a pothole, not a cliff.

Part of it is my desire to control my life. I try to plan for all of life’s contingencies and carry a five pound emergency kit everywhere (I call it a purse). But trying to stay in control is like trying to lug a parachute onto the roller coaster with you in case you get stuck at the top. Be free and enjoy the ride! But wanting peace does not mean I’m ready to leave my emergency kit behind. Where can we find peace and rest?

Paul wrote in Philippians 4,

“6 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

Prayer to God, knowing He is strong enough to take the burdens and wants to get them off my shoulders.

Thanksgiving showers the doubts with some sunshine assurances.

God’s peace guards our hearts. They are under attack by the enemy, our lack of trust, and fear about the world. God gives us peace as we are grounded in His truth and oriented to Christ’s view of our lives. The potholes are just a bump in the road, and the destination is worth the drive.

Thank You, God, for the potholes of today that showed me how white-knuckled my days have become. God, You offer freedom from the stress of life. And I want that. Please help me trust in Your strength and plan, not mine. To Your glory, through Your love, Amen.

Leave a Reply

