No third wheel

I handed a pillow to my roommate, then tossed one to her boyfriend as well. Then I laughed as they gently walloped each other as a parting gift for the night. Third wheeling is not bad around them, but I definitely take a back seat to their relationship together, especially when we are carpooling. I was thinking about God as a Trinity tonight, and was amazed that He works well as three persons in perfect unity. So often my life has centered around two plus one in different circles. Maybe that is why I do not often remember all three persons. I pray to God, ask Jesus for help, but often forget to wonder what the Holy Spirit is up to…and I would guess that He is working more than I suspect.

Of course, they never disagree. There are many sets of three in the world, from the American branches of government to the medal podiums at the Olympic games. But these are not able to illustrate the complexity and communication that is in the Trinity, who fully function as One being.

And He is interested in me. I pray to God, with the Holy Spirit translating, and Jesus interceding for me. And it is through the three persons of the Godhead working to a single focus that the world is offered the opportunity of reconciliation with God. Peter wrote to all “who are chosen according to the foreknowledge of God the Father, by the sanctifying work of the Spirit, to obey Jesus Christ and be sprinkled with His blood: May grace and peace be yours in the fullest measure” (1 Peter 1).  

What’s my response? Worship!

God, thank You for how You are at work. You knew the decisions of the world, and acted to plan a means of salvation through Your Son. Jesus took a place in human history to abort the demand of eternal death for all humanity, and allow forgiveness. And the Holy Spirit is working to fix us up, tailor us to this new life. And You call me into a friendship, serving You while You have already served me so much. Thank You! Please help my life reflect that to Your glory. Amen.

Leave a Reply

