Just rolling along

My yolk is easy and my burden is light. Jesus said that, but it feels like I have been working really hard to keep up with all the things that are expected of me as a Christian. Sure, some of it is just society stuff, but God expects us to fight in a cosmic battle for Him, right? So every day I should be struggling against sin and…and I’m tired. So I sat down with an older Christian gal who is a great sounding board and wondered out loud how God gets out of the pages of the Bible into my daily struggles. Because I’m just not seeing the connection.

She shared that over the years she has come to recognize that it is not so much about her working. God is the one with the plan and the power to get it done. We have to cooperate inside of this plan that is not laid out very far in front of us, but unfolds as we listen and abide in Him.

It reminded me of rolling on a log. I was really good at it when I was a youngster. I would sit down at my typing program and make my logger run as fast as those words made the log spin. You have to be focused on the pace, not running at your own speed. Maybe like a tandem bike. God is steering, and you are just following His lead. And it’s not a stationary bike. It’s an adventure. I want that.

God, help me see You as interesting and inviting, and how I fit with Your plan in a healthy relationship.  Come thou fount of every blessing, tune my heart to sing thy praise….prone to wander, Lord I feel it, prone to leave the God I love. Here’s my heart, Lord, take and seal it, seal it for thy course of love. Amen. 

Leave a Reply

