What kind of story are you writing?

I flicked the mouse again, another page of eye-candy trivia. It makes me feel involved in the world while I sit at home with my feet up. We all want to be part of the story. Right now my story is based on my weekend plans with a few days of filler work in-between. My eye snagged on an advertisement for a new book from my favorite author. Should I pre-order it?

What keeps us interested in a story? What give us momentum in life? Jesus talks about the kingdom of heaven. It is an epic story with cosmic battles. And He invites us to come with Him on the journey.

24 “Truly, truly, I say to you, he who hears My word, and believes Him who sent Me, has eternal life, and does not come into judgment, but has passed out of death into life. 25 Truly, truly, I say to you, an hour is coming and now is, when the dead will hear the voice of the Son of God, and those who hear will live.26 For just as the Father has life in Himself, even so He gave to the Son also to have life in Himself; 27 and He gave Him authority to execute judgment, because He is the Son of Man” John 5:24-27.

Donald Miller challenged me in his book A Million Miles in a Thousand Years to be aware of the story I am writing with my life and to pursue something more than just wandering through my days. How does that pursuit segue with Jesus’ call to the life that He offers to us? Rather than being dead to eternity, we can actively participate in a story that stretches from the beginning of space and time through a future that we can already begin to experience. And the realist in me wants to know facts, statistics, and details. So God, please help me to write a better story.

God, I do not want to wander through life. Please help me see the life You give and how it plays in my daily experience. How can I live better? To Your glory, Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

