Colors and contrasts

I cut the fishing line on two of my necklaces today and sorted the beads. Some faded from years of use, and others I sorted into my beading trays. I had a wide range of colors in those necklaces. It is always fun to add a variety of colors to the mix. Even in my sorting trays, the colors mix and mingle; I just cannot seem to regulate them to a regular pattern. There is a lot of beauty in the texture and pattern of color.

I’m like that with food, too. Indian curry with rice? I’ll try it! Sushi? Well, I do not have anything against seaweed, rice, and fish yet. Pizza built on a broccoli crust? If it works, sign me up!

Cultures captivate me – why do you live like that? What customs do you have? Why does your father do that, or your mom dress like this? What do kids play with and what do they learn?

The strange thing is when we try to force things to all be the same, or push them as far apart as possible. In painting, that creates muddy brown or blobs of confusion. In food spices clash and it tastes awful. In culture, poor communication and interactions create skyscrapers of suspicions and fears. We do not have to agree on everything, and that does not have to separate our lives. My way is not better than yours, they are both a special color. And they are all beautiful.

God, I praying for our people, our hearts. Our officers, our civilians. Our different nationalities and cultures who feel isolated, angry, and scared. I pray that we do not let fear build the walls higher, but seek out people who are different and create a beautiful kaleidoscope of colors as we interact together. Let Your church start that first, God, and be an example in our world today. To Your glory, because You are the One who brings stability and understanding, Amen.

Galatians 3:

26 So in Christ Jesus you are all children of God through faith, 27 for all of you who were baptized into Christ have clothed yourselves with Christ.28 There is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.”

Philippians 2:

 “Therefore if you have any encouragement from being united with Christ, if any comfort from his love, if any common sharing in the Spirit,if any tenderness and compassion, then make my joy complete by being like-minded, having the same love, being one in spirit and of one mind. Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others. In your relationships with one another, have the same mindset as Christ Jesus:”

 

Leave a Reply

