New invitation each morning

What happens when you invite God into your morning? Here’s what I learned today.

Work was filled with ups and downs and catch-up and get-ahead. And confused bursts of prayer. I was tired, alone in the office, and had a ring at the door. A fellow needed some help. I grabbed a resource list, and as I went to the door one of the pastors was walking through. I motioned him over for back-up. The guy was disheveled, with a nasty black eye. He just wanted to get home. I wondered where that was, and if it was safe. He needed water. I filled up his bottle and made a note to wash my hands. He needed directions. I reluctantly offered to find a map, and the pastor helped me. Flustered, aware of how long it was taking, and also amazed how far it would be to walk to the closest locations. My emotions were escalating. This is one of those times where someone desperately needs help, and I do not know how to approach them with the little that I can offer or how they will respond.

I came back to the door. A guy was leaning against one of the poles, while the fellow was sitting on the ground with his back to the door. I opened the door enough to hand him the papers, flustered, wished I could do more. He didn’t look at me, said thanks.

I looked the other guy in the eye and asked if there was anything I could help him with. White shirt? One of the painters?

He smiled, calm. No, thanks.

I sighed in relief, let the door latch shut behind me, and went back to my safe cubicle in the office. The pastor said he was happy to help, call any time, and left me to dig out the project I had interrupted.

And I couldn’t figure out where the other guy came from. It popped into my head that it might be an angel. I laughed. But that gave me jitters worse! It’s like hearing that a famous person was in line with you at the grocery store, or a high government official asked you what time it was. There are people, and then there are the people society respects more. And then there are supernatural types…

But aren’t we all just people? The guy may have been an angel, or he may have just come along and cared for this street fellow. I do not know. But I have decided that the idea of the supernatural should not be so foreign to me. We interact with God all the time as a theoretical entity based somewhere in the atmosphere and transmitting answers to earth. No, He is HERE, present. And so are His other servants, angels.

All day yesterday I was praying for this city, these people, to come to know God, and for my church to be part of the process. And look what happened! God uses prayer to change lives and shift the way we see normal circumstances.

But we forget. It takes a new invitation each morning, asking God to work in your day. And sometimes your prayer time is fragmented and your Bible study is sparse. But God can still work through that, if you are willing.

The Lord is righteous in all his ways
    and faithful in all he does.
18 The Lord is near to all who call on him,
    to all who call on him in truth.
19 He fulfills the desires of those who fear him;
    he hears their cry and saves them.” Psalm 145:17-19

In the midst of everything life throws at you,

“Remember my affliction and my wanderings,
    the wormwood and the gall!
20 My soul continually remembers it
    and is bowed down within me.
21 But this I call to mind,
    and therefore I have hope:

22 The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;
    his mercies never come to an end;
23 they are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.
24 ‘The Lord is my portion,’ says my soul,
    ‘therefore I will hope in him.'” Lamentations 3:19-24

 

God, thank You for the truth of Your word, how You answer prayer, the ways I recognize Your fingerprints on a situation. Please remind me that no matter how ineffective my prayers seem to be, You are still at work. And sometimes I get to watch. Thank You! To You be the glory, Amen.

Leave a Reply

