The real thing

There is a day when you can walk through dry grass and pick a peach off a vibrant living tree. Not a grocery shelf. And it drops into your hand, ready to peel and eat with juice running to your elbow. That’s a real peach. All the ones in the store that have the texture of an apple and the flavor of a lollipop are shadows of that real peach.

I was thinking today about God’s love. I do not understand it, and I wish it was easier to experience. I know He loves me the same at all times. Maybe I’m just not always ready to embrace that love, and want the convenience offered in other gratification. But that is like a store bought peach.

I guess I am on the hunt for the real thing that goes beyond rules and devotional applications. Where does obedience meet experience and loyalty meet enthusiasm?

God, please help me to get beyond the fear of new and understand how the seasons of life work in relating to You. Thank You for Your love. Amen.

“Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth.Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

Love never ends.” 1 Corinthians 13

Leave a Reply

