Taste and see

I love food! If you have seen the movie Ratatouille, my perspective is similar to Remy’s outlook of wanting to see what flavors and textures combine into something new and amazing. But I hate it when I eat just because I am stressed, or tired, or (fill in the blank). Food does not solve the problem, and I just get frustrated at myself. It is a vicious cycle.

Today in my devotional from Jesus Calling this idea jumped out: taste and see that the Lord is good. It comes from Psalm 34:4-8:

“I sought the Lord, and He answered me,
And delivered me from all my fears.
They looked to Him and were radiant,
And their faces will never be ashamed.
This poor man cried, and the Lord heard him
And saved him out of all his troubles.
The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear Him,
And rescues them.

O taste and see that the Lord is good;
How blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him!”

This tasting implies personal experience. Crying out to God, seeing Him act, and knowing His goodness on a personal level. And like food, enjoying it again and again each day.

I try to understand God logically, and it does not work. I can only be amazed at His boundless love and encouragement to me to keep growing to something better.

Isaiah 55:8-11 says,

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts,
Nor are your ways My ways,” declares the Lord.
“For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
So are My ways higher than your ways
And My thoughts than your thoughts.
10 “For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven,
And do not return there without watering the earth
And making it bear and sprout,
And furnishing seed to the sower and bread to the eater;
11 So will My word be which goes forth from My mouth;
It will not return to Me empty,
Without accomplishing what I desire,
And without succeeding in the matter for which I sent it.”

God provides for us to eat every day. Without Him, there would be no rain to grow the crops. We would be like the parts of California that are not irrigated by pipes and hard labor: brown, dry, empty. But God sends rain. And He sends His word. And we can taste and see that He is at work and growing us to be more like His Son.

God, I want to taste Your goodness…and I was able to today through an unexpected conversation in the park. One idea, one smile, can spread so much joy. Please help me to continue tasting and seeing who You are, and how that can change the world around me, as well as my life. To Your glory, Amen.

Leave a Reply

