The true Goldilocks

The story of Goldilocks and the three bears is the perfect way to show the idea of something being balanced, and “just right.” The interesting thing is that Goldy had to search for this balance and tried many wrong ways before she found the right way. I often feel like this as I go through life. We are all in pursuit of truth, and what makes the world right or better.

Sometimes I think my difficulty in reading the Bible is just that I am impatient. I spent a good fifteen minutes praying and pondering Proverbs 30:7-9 today and was amazed what I found:

“Two things I ask of you;
    deny them not to me before I die:
Remove far from me falsehood and lying;
    give me neither poverty nor riches;
    feed me with the food that is needful for me,
lest I be full and deny you
    and say, “Who is the Lord?”
or lest I be poor and steal
    and profane the name of my God.”

Agur had a lot of good things packed into these verses. First of all, he had a two-part bucket list! Now that is narrowing it down to the essentials! And what did he want?

If God removed falsehood and lying from your life, that would leave only what is right and true. So Agur is pursuing truth…but knows that he can’t reach it himself. God gives the ability to recognize it.

And second? Agur wants just enough. Not too much money, nor too little – either way, he will stop focusing on God, and his earth-life will take over his focus. Too much and he will get bored, distracted, and wander away. Too little and he will go steal and put God’s reputation to shame. These are lifestyle areas.

It made me laugh – we humans wander so well from good! And then I saw a deeper truth in this – God gives both the mental and spiritual recognition of truth, and the physical reality of how it plays out in daily living. But notice which one is discussed first – the spiritual. I think that I probably default to the physical realm too often. Truth in thought translates into truth in practice. And both are gifts from God, not something I can reach on my own. It is an area to trust God as you seek to recognize the true and good in life, whether in worship or at a grocery store. And all that out of three verses!

God, thank You for the beauty of truth packed into short thoughts. Thank You for helping me see the truth here, and recognize that Your Word is a place where the thoughts on truth can translate into a lifestyle. God, please help this to be my pursuit, and help me to trust You to give them. To Your glory and praise, Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

