God is with me wherever I go

The songs you learn at camp somehow hook in your memory for life. And at Vacation Bible School today, I heard a new one: God is with me wherever I go! Each repetition, each shout at the end, and it stuck further in my memory. I started humming it along with the kids being picked up for the day. And it is a great truth to remember!

Joshua had followed Moses around for many years, but now he had to lead ungainly Israel by himself. God gave Joshua a strong reminder as he surveyed the walls of Jericho:

Remember that I commanded you to be strong and brave. So don’t be afraid. The Lord your God will be with you everywhere you go” Joshua 1:9.

And as Israel marched around the city, following God’s orders, the walls came tumbling down! Have any areas in your life you wish God would help you defeat? He is with you as you face them!

God does not support everything we begin to fight. The verse right before Joshua 1:9 says, “Always remember what is written in the Book of the Teachings. Study it day and night. Then you will be sure to obey everything that is written there. If you do this, you will be wise and successful in everything” Joshua 1:8

This is not a list of caveats and exceptions to God being with us, but a guide so we will battle things in life that are good to pursue. This is our polished, tested armor so we are ready for battle. And yet even when we forget to strap it on, “God is with me wherever I go!”

And that is a promise worth singing!

God, thank You for being patient and strong for us, helping us wherever we go. Thank You also for a road map so that we do not have to take “scenic routes” and detours everywhere. God, please help me to remember Your word and see how it directs my life, then go forward boldly. To Your glory, Amen.

Leave a Reply

