Eye in the sky

Artificial intelligence is watching us…or so the movies say. The government is watching us…the news reports. God is watching us…our preachers remind us. It’s funny how often I forget that. I go about my merry way, somewhat clueless about what is going on in the world around me. It is overwhelming, like a billboard of commercials that change every ten seconds. But it is interesting to read the Bible and see how there is a master plan, a bigger view of the world. If we are just people running around, God is the general who can see the full map. And successes or failures in our eyes have their place in His plans.

I pray to better understand the spiritual reality around me. After all, we all realize that there is more to us than chemical reactions. Things about the world do not make sense. And that is kind of scary to sit down and stare in the face. We are not actually in control of our world. But we do get to make choices as to how we react. And we have an invitation to serve under God’s leadership. When we do, He has some amazing promises for us:

Romans 8:31-39:

31 So what should we say about this? If God is for us, then no one can defeat us. 32 God let even his own Son suffer for us. God gave his Son for us all. So with Jesus, God will surely give us all things….37 But in all these things we have full victory through God who showed his love for us. 38-39 Yes, I am sure that nothing can separate us from the love God has for us. Not death, not life, not angels, not ruling spirits, nothing now, nothing in the future, no powers, nothing above us, nothing below us, or anything else in the whole world will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

And Hebrews 13 has a different angle to help us view the world:

“5 Keep your lives free from the love of money. And be satisfied with what you have. God has said,

“I will never leave you;
    I will never abandon you.” Deuteronomy 31:6

So we can feel sure and say,

“I will not be afraid because the Lord is my helper.
    People can’t do anything to me.” Psalm 118:6″

We do not have to grapple for limited resources in this world as a way to find meaning, but we have a long-term goal to work towards of life and hope and love. And yes, there is someone watching us, but God is watching out for us! What an honor and privilege!

God, the hairs on the back of my neck are tingling…but that’s not what it really means to be aware of You. Please help me to understand how You love, what Your view of the world is, and to trust Your control over my life…which is weird, so it will take a while. Thanks for Your patience, Your promises, and for watching out for me. To Your glory, Amen.

Leave a Reply

