Deadlines

Chopped is a stressful TV show. There is always a large knife looming in the background as a symbol of what happens to the chefs who cannot cook well enough under pressure. I have a hard enough time cooking a basic meal, much less a gourmet, polished artisan dish in thirty minutes. Deadlines in general hamper my creative expression. Learning to work faster is not all bad, but I don’t like it.

Clocks are everywhere, and so are deadlines: at work, during school, in traffic, while shopping, in free time…we even create them for ourselves. Will I meet my deadline or be late? What will happen if I do not get it done? Sometimes it feels like every deadline puts me under the pressure of getting “chopped” or thrown out if I cannot perform.

But once I have done what I can for today, what is the point of trying to plan the future? Life is unpredictable!

31 Don’t worry and say, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What will we drink?’ or ‘What will we wear?’ 32 All the people who don’t know God keep trying to get these things. And your Father in heaven knows that you need them. 33 The thing you should want most is God’s kingdom and doing what God wants. Then all these other things you need will be given to you. 34 So don’t worry about tomorrow. Each day has enough trouble of its own. Tomorrow will have its own worries” (Matthew 6:31-34). 

Philippians 4 in the International Children’s Bible says it well:

Do not worry about anything. But pray and ask God for everything you need. And when you pray, always give thanks. And God’s peace will keep your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus. The peace that God gives is so great that we cannot understand it.”

God, thank You for freedom, even under deadlines. The more I stress, and the higher my blood pressure, the less I enjoy life and all that I can do and experience. Thank You for the reminder today to let the deadlines stay in tomorrow, and be okay with what I can accomplish for now. Please help me to keep learning that lesson! To Your glory, Amen.

Leave a Reply

