Stumbles

Sometimes I think the world is made of slightly mature toddlers. I listen to the news, and even my own conversations, and hear “I want..” or “he took my…” and “but its not fair” (insert whining tones as applicable). And a little cartoonist in the back of my mind is busy illustrating us as younger versions of ourselves.

But on another note, maybe seeing myself as a toddler is a good thing.

Why?

They stumble, and get back up and keep going. And their parents and teachers tell them that they are okay, and to keep trying. Making mistakes is a good part of learning.

I was reading 1 Peter 1 today, and came across these verses:

“22 Now you have made yourselves pure by obeying the truth. Now you can have true love for your brothers. So love each other deeply with all your heart. 23 You have been born again. This new life did not come from something that dies, but from something that cannot die. You were born again through God’s living message that continues forever. 24 The Scripture says,

“All people are like the grass.
    And all their strength is like the flowers of the field.
The grass dies and the flowers fall.
25 But the word of the Lord will live forever.” Isaiah 40:6-8

And this is the word that was preached to you.”

This chapter is talking about the hope we have in God, hope that we can have changed lifestyles because we are children of God. He is our good Father who guides us on new paths.

And I get really discouraged when I do not live up to “holy.” But God is a Father – He knows we will make mistakes. So He picks us up and tells us to keep trying to learn how to walk in love. And we have a living hope in Him of a better life. So do not get discouraged – keep trying and stumbling after God!

God, I am so impatient with the journey. Thank You for letting us learn, and encouraging us no matter how many times we fall. We learn so fast as children, and seem to overthink everything in later years. Please help me to pursue You and Your holy lifestyle, to Your glory. Thanks for always picking me up. Amen.

Leave a Reply

