Forgiven

Your meal  has been paid for.

I got angry. Do you mean the last ten minutes I spent agonizing over how I will afford this hamburger and not be able to afford that movie ticket and will disappoint that friend, but will power through is all wasted?

I expected to have to sacrifice and take care of myself. Self-reliant, proud, free and strong.

But I’m not, really. And my back hurts from the weight of the facade.

What about this salvation in Christ thing? I admit that I do bad things, and accept Jesus died for God’s accounting book of sins to be balanced out to zero. But life has consequences that make you understand the pain of your actions. And since I did the bad, I’ll take the medicine. Right? Wrong. When it comes to life and death, Jesus already took the punishment. Forgiven; already paid, have a great day!

Ephesians 1:7-10 says it,

In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace that he lavished on us. With all wisdom and understanding, he made known to us the mystery of his will according to his good pleasure, which he purposed in Christ, 10 to be put into effect when the times reach their fulfillment—to bring unity to all things in heaven and on earth under Christ.”

While we do have consequences for our actions, they are not pay-back punishments, and they are often lighter than we deserve. God lavishes grace on us. And it is hard to accept. But that taste of freedom, an open horizon, a fresh page. Sometimes it just takes practice.

God, thank You for forgiving, and I’m sorry for not being thankful immediately. Please help me to understand this gift, and that it is nothing I can contribute towards, but just accept. Why do I have to do it myself? Thank You for Your patience! Please help my heart to soften and change, and share this freedom with those around me, extending the same grace to them. To Your glory, Amen.

 

 

One thought on “Forgiven

  1. So true! Isn’t is amazing! That is the wonderful thing about God’s Word–there is always more to learn, even if you have heard it many times–and it’s still amazing and wonderful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

