Miles on the heart

What is it that I do not like about commuting? It wears me down as I dread the miles to and from my destination. And I do the same thing with other routines in life, thinking several steps ahead of my feet and without any efficient new methods to relieve the regularity of the tasks. I get bored and I start slouching.

A recent read challenged my perspective on how I live my daily life. Donald Miller wrote several books, and then he wrote A Million Miles in a Thousand Years about the process of turning one of his books into a movie. How do you write a captivating story? When the book focuses on your own life, how do you keep the audience intrigued? What makes your story worth living and telling – in other words, what brings it meaning?

Sometimes we expect meaning from the mundane in ways that it will never provide. Sometimes a change is ready to burst onto the scene, and sometimes it takes perseverance through a long stretch of life to finish the scene to the end.

Hebrews has captivated my attention in the past few weeks. I read Hebrews 11-13 together today, and was surprised how they stood out together. Look how people in the Bible reacted to life and life challenges with faith. Watch your own leaders for good examples to follow. Bring faith into the practical day-to-day life, and enjoy the journey.

By faith Abraham, when called to go to a place he would later receive as his inheritance, obeyed and went, even though he did not know where he was going. By faith he made his home in the promised land like a stranger in a foreign country; he lived in tents, as did Isaac and Jacob, who were heirs with him of the same promise. 10 For he was looking forward to the city with foundations, whose architect and builder is God” (Hebrews 11:8-10)

What if our search for meaning is not going to find a cut and dry conclusion before death? What if we get tastes and glimpses of life as it “should be” but our lives are never completely satisfactory? Would I be okay with that – can I wait for what God has promised?

God, thank You for story, meaning, and beauty in life. There is so much beauty! Thank You for the pursuit of good things, and how it changes the way we look at the world. Please help me to be brave enough to tell a story that people want to hear, and that brings You glory for the ways You work through me. Thank You for such examples of faith throughout the Bible and around me. To You be the glory, God. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

