Drops from above

West-coast Oregonians proudly claim almost twenty different categories of precipitation: dripping, raining, showers, mist, raining cats and dogs, hail, sleet, fog, pea-soup, snow, spitting, torrential downpour, monsoon, dumping buckets of water, soaking, dew, blizzard, and (my personal favorite) drizzle. We grumble about the dreary gray days of winter, but enjoy the vibrant growth of everything green. Where would we be without it? Brown.

George Herbert had a similar perspective on Grace which he framed in a garden setting:

My stock lies dead and no increase
Doth my dull husbandry improve:
O let thy graces without cease
Drop from above!

If still the sun should hide his face,
Thy house would but a dungeon prove,
Thy works, night’s captives: O let grace
Drop from above!

The dew doth ev’ry morning fall;
And shall the dew outstrip thy dove?
The dew, for which grass cannot call,
Drop from above.

Death is still working like a mole,
And digs my grave at each remove:
Let grace work too, and on my soul
Drop from above.

Sin is still hammering my heart
Unto a hardness, void of love:
Let suppling grace, to cross his art,
Drop from above.

O come! for thou dost know the way.
Or if to me thou wilt not move,
Remove me, where I need not say,
‘Drop from above.’

How often do we look up and cry out for God’s grace to refresh our hearts again? Is death working like a mole to undermine your stability? Is sin stomping down the dirt of your heart so it is too hard to grow love?

Grace is a favorite topic of the New Testament. It still amazes me to think that God not only tolerates us, but seeks us out to help us grow and change from sin to serving Him. Paul talked about this in Romans 5, comparing Adam’s action which brought death with Jesus Christ’s action that brought life:

15 But the gift is not like the trespass. For if the many died by the trespass of the one man, how much more did God’s grace and the gift that came by the grace of the one man, Jesus Christ, overflow to the many!”

Grace brings strength, endurance, joy, peace instead of strife. And it is something that I need to learn to give. A free gift, not deserved, showered in love from one to another.

God, what does it look like to give grace? Like what You did for us through Jesus. God, what about my life? Where do You give me opportunities to show grace? Thank You for the showers of grace dripping and soaking into my life. Please help me freely share it. It is beautiful! To Your glory, Amen.

Leave a Reply

