Outlandish proverbs

Solomon wrote over 3,000 proverbs, and Herbert tried his hand at over 1,000. Some make more sense than others. Out of one randomly selected page of proverbs these maxims stood out:

#774 – He that hath a wife and children wants not business.

#776 – He that fears death lives not.

#798 – In doing we learn.

and

#769 – The constancy of the benefits of the year in their seasons argues a Deity.

Ah, number seven hundred and sixty nine. That’s a challenger. How do I respond to consistency in the world? Is it possible without God? This is how Jesus saw it:

Matthew 5“44 But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, 45 that you may be children of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous.”

And Paul says in Romans 1,

18 The wrath of God is being revealed from heaven against all the godlessness and wickedness of people, who suppress the truth by their wickedness, 19 since what may be known about God is plain to them, because God has made it plain to them. 20 For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that people are without excuse.”

But at the same time that I am seeking God, I am not sure of the best way. It is a problem that has me stuck.

Bees have been buzzing a little less lately. There’s a bee blight. And all of a sudden I miss them. Maybe it is only when we are shocked out of our tunnel-vision that we can appreciate what we have right here and now. I tend to outline the future and assess the past without capturing the present. At the end of the day, where did the time go? We miss the blessings of the moment. How can I get out of my pattern and catch a different perspective on life?

God, I am stuck how You intersect with everyday life, how the Bible connects to my day-planner, and how the Church can make a difference in the communities where we live without giving up the good You call us to live out. God, please help me to be humble, to listen with open hands and shoes on so I am ready to go. Thank You that You are so much more than my questions will ever reach, and You are enough! To You be the glory, Amen.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

