Help when I’m stuck

There are times when my thoughts flow like water. There are times I chew them over and over like a cow. And there are times where they are just stuck, no matter how hard I try to push them out! I need some mental WD-40 tonight!

Maybe that is why I read in John 10 this morning about the Good Shepherd. God, I’m stuck. And He always leads us like a Good Shepherd. I’m sure that Shepherd was not in the Top Ten Best Careers list of the day. It was not easy chasing dumb animals, leading them to food, protecting them. But like another king, David, Jesus had a soft spot for people who wandered in circles, got into bad habits, and needed someone to lead them out of the mess they were stuck in. Jesus had compassion on them. John 10 contrasts the outlook of someone who is only hired or after a profit with outlook of the true shepherd.

“10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly. 11 I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.

Jesus does not go halfway, but He does not just give up, either. Jesus sees all the lost, wandering souls like sheep, needing a leader. But it will take a fight to save them. He lays down His life for the sheep and He will take it back up again. Jesus will win to lead both His flock in Israel, and also those people not originally part of the fold (that would be me and the rest of us Gentiles). And that’s who we can go to when we get stuck!

God, I see how much I do not understand about this world and how it works. I struggle with realizing how to live as You direct, and how to share Your love with the people around me. God, thank You for who You are, Your love You pour out on me, and for being so patient with me. Please heal my heart, help me to be patient, and humbly look to You for answers, not my own abilities. My brain is stuck, but I do not need to know all the answers, because I know that You have the situation under control. To You be the glory God! I love You, Amen.

Leave a Reply

