Worry: ain’t nobody got time for that

I make myself dizzy sometimes by thinking in circles.For example, “I have to do this and first I have to do this, but this is due first and due for work, and so once I get off”…AIN’T NOBODY GOT TIME FOR THAT! (If you have not watched this video and want to understand the cultural reference, click here.)

And that is exactly how Jesus responds to worrying! In Luke 12 He says:

24 Consider the ravens: they neither sow nor reap, they have neither storehouse nor barn, and yet God feeds them. Of how much more value are you than the birds! 25 And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? 26 If then you are not able to do as small a thing as that, why are you anxious about the rest?”

If you can’t add hair to your head or increase your lifetime by worrying (probably the opposite, actually), then why do you do it so often?! This caught my attention, as did the next section starting in verse 32:

32 “Fear not, little flock, for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom. 33 Sell your possessions, and give to the needy. Provide yourselves with moneybags that do not grow old, with a treasure in the heavens that does not fail, where no thief approaches and no moth destroys. 34 For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.”

Jesus’ entire focus is on the kingdom of heaven, and working towards that kingdom. And so what we do here is just going towards that. It is like saving up to buy a house, and working really hard because there is something so worthwhile at the end of the road. Is waiting worth that much? Only if you are sure that what you are waiting for is going to be worth it. Jesus made sure that we knew it was worth it to work towards God’s heavenly kingdom (John 14Matthew 28, Revelation 21-22).

So why do I hold onto money so tightly? Why do I wonder what I will do when a great big challenge steps into my path? God has it under control, and He loves to help us! But He wants to help us in the best way possible. And sometimes that makes us a little more uncomfortable so that we will trust Him a little more. What would happen if I lived like God was really God: sovereign, in control, and working in everyday life of kings and ordinary people?

God, I need a change of mind. My heart comes back to You much faster than my head with all its calculations and musings. Thank You that You see time on a different scale, and small problems disappear in the length of a lifetime, or eternity. So please help me to see the important things and let the nagging daily distractions go. Thank You for caring so intimately for me, for all of us. To You be the glory in my life. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

