Growing seeds and questions

What topic do you choose when you have a closed Bible in front of you? The concordance? How do you find something challenging yet also interesting? What have I not already looked at many many times? Pound head on table.

Take a look from another angle. I love stories, and I learn a lot more from a story than from a command. Puzzles are also a good challenge, something that prompts many questions.

So I am going to begin studying Jesus’ parables.

I looked in Matthew, Mark, and Luke to find the parable they recorded first. I did not want to do the one on the sower, but that is the first and most prominent one in these gospels. But is there actually anything new to learn from it? That’s a challenge if I’ve ever heard one!

And I already have a few gnawing questions working around my brain.

If you want to begin your own set of questions, look in Matthew 13, Mark 4, and Luke 8. Post your questions in the comments below. Let’s see if yours match with mine at all!

Here’s one big question that I have from Mark 4 – what does this verse mean?

12 so that “they may indeed see but not perceive,/ and may indeed hear but not understand,/ lest they should turn and be forgiven.”

It is a quote – where is it from?

What is the original context?

What does it mean for Jesus’ parables?

How does this fit with the nature of God as presented in the rest of the Bible?

Lest is a key word – what does that mean?

I look forward to exploring more of this with you tomorrow!

God, thank You for big questions, and a text that keeps yielding more and more as we dive into it. Please give me eyes to see and ears to hear the truth of what You have recorded, and help us to see where these truths fit into everyday life. To You be the glory. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

