Tug of war balance beam

Teeter-totters are one of those dangerous playground pieces that I enjoyed as a kid. As long as you had ballast on the other seat, you could feel like you were flying for a few seconds. And curbs were another source of amusement, walking on just a few inches of concrete. I never climbed on a balance beam, but I think it would be fun at some point. And then sometimes it feels like I am already on a balance beam in life, and playing tug-of-war with someone to maintain balance. Paul in Philippians 1  introduces an interesting concept of how God and man can both be powerfully involved in our Christian walk. It does not always make sense (like trying to play tug-of-war on a balance beam).

And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. It is right for me to feel this way about you all, because I hold you in my heart, for you are all partakers with me of grace, both in my imprisonment and in the defense and confirmation of the gospel. For God is my witness, how I yearn for you all with the affection of Christ Jesus. And it is my prayer that your love may abound more and more, with knowledge and all discernment, 10 so that you may approve what is excellent, and so be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, 11 filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ, to the glory and praise of God.”

What is the good work God is directing in our lives? In relation to the Gospel, it would be Christ growing in us…and that is undoubtedly unpacked and explained in the rest of the book. But God brings it to a fullness, completion, the final brick in the wall at the day of Christ Jesus’ return. He is overseeing things.

But at the same time, Paul talks about the role we play in love. But love that uses logic, reason, the “NO” word. God gave us good minds. But it also involves saying no to good things if they are at the wrong time, place. How do you know to do that?

Here is the cool thing: God sent the Holy Spirit to help with our end of the tug-of-war rope. So He directs us on daily interactions as God steers us in tiny steps towards a greater goal at the end. It is overwhelming, but we do not have to worry, but focus on following Him. It is a team effort, not a competition.

God, thank You for helping me balance. How do I get so overwhelmed with the little pieces of daily living when there are such bigger pieces to look at in life? But You are there working, so it is not my job to worry over any of it. God, please help me to be discerning, using my brain and listening to You, in a world filled with ways to over-do, neglect, and get distracted at the same time. It is a dance on the wire, this life, and You are the Coach leading it to a beautiful completion. That’s a comfort! All the glory to You! Amen.

 

Side note:

Thank you for reading my blog – I appreciate being able to share my thoughts with you. I am sampling different Bible passages right now, seeking a topic study to sink my teeth into. Comment below if you have an area you are curious about or have enjoyed exploring in the past. Word studies intrigue me, so suggestions in that direction are also appreciated. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

