Can I put myself in timeout?

Do you ever feel like you need a reset button on life? Maybe just a time-out. Or maybe time could pause so you could get your task list caught up. This is a reoccurring theme in my relationship with God. In Leviticus 15-16, God outlined times for people to stop normal life and understand where they stood with Him. And that meant rules to define clean from unclean. And since the nation did not always catch it, they had a whole day a year where they purposefully acknowledged their sins and asked God to count them as clean again. The amazing thing was that God accepted animal sacrifices as representations of His ultimate sacrifice, when Jesus died as a man to answer for the sins of humanity. And that is God’s reset button for us to be able to pursue a life apart from sin.

God, I really do need timeouts to see the mess of what I’ve done when I get too busy to listen. Thank You for long conversations and for giving me so much grace! God, please change my heart and help me to change. I love You. Amen.

Leave a Reply

