The day “normal” changed

At the end of some days, the best thing to do with your planner is look at it, cross off most of the items, tear it up into small pieces, and burn it. And maybe that’s what Moses did that day God changed his life (read along in Exodus 4-6).

Moses’ plan for the day: Watch sheep. Talk to sheep. Watch sky. Look around. Watch sheep. Count sheep. Sleep.

God’s plan for Moses’ day:

  • Distract him from the sheep with a burning bush.
  • Have a conversation about saving the nation of Israel…might take some talking through.
  • Give him a crash course on miracles.
  • Be patient
  • Pair him with his brother.

Moses definitely had a different day than expected. And he had some serious reservations about being God’s next great representative to Israel.

11 Then the Lord said to him, “Who has made man’s mouth? Who makes him mute, or deaf, or seeing, or blind? Is it not I, the Lord? 12 Now therefore go, and I will be with your mouth and teach you what you shall speak”” (Exodus 4). 

Moses left with his wife and kids, and Aaron met him in the wilderness. Yes, Moses, this really is happening! They went to the elders of Israel together, and everybody loved the plan. Leave Egypt? Oh yeah, time to pack my bags!

Pharaoh had a different perspective. God? Who’s He? We have lots of gods…you’re just distracting the slaves. Double the work!

And all of Israel was forced to make bricks without straw. Are you crazy? They (politely) asked Pharaoh.

Ask Aaron and Moses, Pharaoh replied, they’re the ones who think you have so much time on your hands to take a weekend vacation.

Thanks a lot, Moses!

(Chapter 5) “22 Then Moses turned to the Lord and said, “O Lord, why have you done evil to this people? Why did you ever send me? 23 For since I came to Pharaoh to speak in your name, he has done evil to this people, and you have not delivered your people at all.””

(Chapter 6) “But the Lord said to Moses, “Now you shall see what I will do to Pharaoh; for with a strong hand he will send them out, and with a strong hand he will drive them out of his land.””

Listen to what God says. In the darkest times, it is hard to see what He is doing. But never forget Who is fighting for you!

“2 God spoke to Moses and said to him, “I am the Lord. I appeared to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob, as God Almighty, but by my name the Lord I did not make myself known to them. I also established my covenant with them to give them the land of Canaan, the land in which they lived as sojourners.Moreover, I have heard the groaning of the people of Israel whom the Egyptians hold as slaves, and I have remembered my covenant. Say therefore to the people of Israel, ‘I am the Lord, and I will bring you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians, and I will deliver you from slavery to them, and I will redeem you with an outstretched arm and with great acts of judgment. I will take you to be my people, and I will be your God, and you shall know that I am the Lord your God, who has brought you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians. I will bring you into the land that I swore to give to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob. I will give it to you for a possession. I am the Lord.’”

And who is it that God used again? Levi was the third son of Jacob. He had kids, his sons had kids, and Moses and Aaron were several generations removed. Aaron had kids (Nadab, Abihu, Eleazar, and Ithamar) who come up in later stories. So does his grandson, Eleazar’s kid Phineas. So Moses was nothing special, and he knew it! It was God who was working through him to deliver Israel. And He hasn’t even begun to flex His arms!

God, thank You for promises. You make them to us, and I know You keep them. When we can only look down and see ourselves, You call our attention back to who You are, and how You are working. Thank You, God. Please help me to trust Your strength more than my own. And thank You for how You work – it makes me laugh in amazement sometimes! Amen.

Leave a Reply

