Sing a song

Many songs hit “number one.” And even after a few decades, you can hum a few bars and someone will nod in appreciation. But what would it be like to have a song so good that it is recorded in the Bible?

46 And Mary said,

“My soul magnifies the Lord,
47     and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior,
48 for he has looked on the humble estate of his servant.
    For behold, from now on all generations will call me blessed;
49 for he who is mighty has done great things for me,
    and holy is his name.
50 And his mercy is for those who fear him
    from generation to generation.
51 He has shown strength with his arm;
    he has scattered the proud in the thoughts of their hearts;
52 he has brought down the mighty from their thrones
    and exalted those of humble estate;
53 he has filled the hungry with good things,
    and the rich he has sent away empty.
54 He has helped his servant Israel,
    in remembrance of his mercy,
55 as he spoke to our fathers,
    to Abraham and to his offspring forever” (Luke 1: 46-55)

It was real. Elizabeth was pregnant after so long, and was calling her the blessed one, the woman God chose to bear the Messiah….Messiah. Savior. Ruler. Shepherd. Rock. King. But me? It’s really me?

And Mary burst into song, inspired by the Holy Spirit. She wove a lot of Old Testament themes in, but also the dreams of someone who could see God at work in the corner of the world she called home.

God was mighty, He was working, and look what He was doing!

I marvel with Mary that God would pick her – or anyone for that matter – to bear His Son. Was she the good girl of the town who could recite Scripture with the rabbis? Was she a queen in peasant’s clothing? Or was she just…normal? Like one of us? And suddenly God sent Gabriel to change her world forever.

How can He change mine, if I let Him? What about yours?

God, thank You for song, and a way to express things that cannot be said in speaking. Thank You for Mary, and her example of relying on You to the point that You knew You could trust her with that weighty responsibility. God, please help me to give my burdens to You. And be excited for how You choose to work in my world, and even use me to change things. Thank You for being holy, mighty, and good. You keep Your promises. And it amazes me. To You be the praise! Amen.

Leave a Reply

