And a partridge in a pear tree…

Today I felt like I was on day 10 of the Twelve Days of Christmas. So close, and yet so far. My world was turning Blue, and yet my attitude was definitely resembling that of an infamous green Christmas thief. How did I come so far to go from Buddy the Elf to Scrooge?

But like poor Charlie Brown, I had a Linus to speak truth into my day. And it came from a gal who said, “It’s okay that you are being a Bah-Humbug….I’ll pray you get a sigh of relief.” And thanks to a fabulous neighborhood of lights to cruise with my roommates, I had a wonderful evening. Almost like Christmas snow…

This, too, was a breath of relief in my day. It’s from Jeremiah 31. What could come out of Jeremiah, the “Weeping Prophet?” God is speaking to Israel who has blown it again. And they do not get a free ticket for the perfect life, but the message is enough to raise the head of the most disheartened.

31 “Behold,

the days are coming,

declares the Lord,

when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah, 32 not like the covenant that I made with their fathers on the day when I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt,

my covenant that they broke,

though I was their husband, declares the Lord.

33 For this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, declares the Lord:

I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts.

And I will be their God, and they shall be my people.

34 And no longer shall each one teach his neighbor and each his brother, saying, ‘Know the Lord,’ for they shall all know me, from the least of them to the greatest, declares the Lord.

For I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more.”

God desires the closest,  most intimate relationship with us. This isn’t one that could be lost in the temple for a few hundred years or get dusty in a corner. This is one that is etched into the core of your being, and works it way out into your daily life. One day at a time. If you just accept His gift of forgiveness and help.

Advent is counting days, just like the Twelve Days of Christmas. And the calendar is counting down days, too. The larger the number, the closer we are to God’s fulfillment of His promises to bring healing to the earth. We’re so close, and yet it seems so far. But Christmas reminds us that Jesus came as Emmanuel: God With Us. And He is with us in the waiting.

Thank You, God, for the fun of Christmas, and that we can count down the days. And the time seems to drag and yet fly away in a snap of the fingers. And today I lost heart. But You did not give up. Thank You for Your love, that You etch it on our hearts, and reinforce it over and over. God, as I journey to Christmas, please help me to see those who are also struggling and reach out to them. Please help me to look to You as I am waiting. And thank You that You are with us, and You keep Your promises, and You are coming back! Hallelujah!

 

Leave a Reply

